A Brief Overview on the < Politologisch Instituut >

The Politologisch Instituut (Political Science Institute) was established as a non-profit association on 9 July 1979 in Brussels by a group of Flemish political scientists and politicians.

This new institute emerged from the dissolution of the Belgish Instituut voor Wetenschap der Politiek - Institut Belge de Science Politique (Belgian Institute for Political Science), which had been established in 1951. The Walloon political scientists also formed an independent organization, the Institut de Science Politique. Both Institutes are now separately represented in the International Political Science Association.

The Politologisch Instituut developed from a nucleus of Flemish political scientists who, within the Belgisch Instituut voor Wetenschap der Politiek, had striven since 1962 to have the political science of the Dutch language region recognized on an inter-university and an inter-community level. This nucleus found that it was very difficult to transport Flemish research across the linguistic border, largely because of the widespread ignorance of Dutch among the French-speaking political scientists in Belgium.

When divergent judgments arose about a number of policy and managerial problems in the Belgian Institute for Political Science and along with the trend toward the federalization of Belgium, it was decided after mutual consultation that each ethnical community should go its own way in this field, although cooperation in specific projects in the future was not excluded.

In the division after the dissolution, the *Politologisch Instituut* decided to develop *Res Publica*, the journal which had been published by the Belgian Institute for Political Science since 1959, first semi-annually and then quarterly. The *Politologisch Instituut* choose this means as an excellent way to disseminate, discuss, and criticize research and political analysis.

The Institut de Science Politique decided to maintain the political science documentation service.

In this way, an old policy controversy was resolved with a solution acceptable to both parties.

The changes in the publication policy of the journal that were already apparent during the last decade and surely during the last five years of the *Belgisch Instituut voor Wetenschap der Politiek* were continued. The journal is intended to promote the political analysis of Belgian politics by giving it priority. Simultaneously, the journal is also intended to be a means of communication among political scientists in Belgium, regardless the concrete research object with which they are occupied. The language in which the research is done is not to be an obstacle to publication. Therefore, *Res Publica* publishes in the three national languages and also in English. Contributions from scholars of other countries that significantly further these objectives are published. *Res Publica* is intended to be the guide for political science research in and about Belgium. After all Belgium is the best place for such research and analysis.

Composition of the Board of the « Politologisch Instituut ».

- Herman Balthazar, Ordinary Professor at the State University of Ghent.
- Maurice Boeynaems, Ordinary Professor at the Royal Military Academy.
- Jan Ceuleers, Lecturer at the Free University of Brussels.
- Lode Claes, manager.
- Herman De Croo, Extraordinary professor at the Free University of Brussels.
- Roger De Kinder, Governor of the Province of East Flanders.
- -- Herman Deleeck, Ordinary Professor at the St. Ignatius University Faculties in Antwerp and the Antwerp University Institution.
- Jan De Meyer, Ordinary Professor at the Catholic University of Leuven.
- Wilfried Dewachter, Ordinary Professor at the Catholic University of Leuven.
- Luc Huyse, Ordinary Professor at the Catholic University of Leuven.
- Rudolf Maes, Former Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences at the Catholic University of Leuven.
- Maurits Naessens, honorary chairman of a financial institution.
- Frank Swaelen, Minister of Defense.
- Eli Van Bogaert, Ordinary Professor at the State University of Ghent.
- Yvan Van Den Berghe, Professor at the Limburg School of Advanced Economics.
- August Van Den Brande, Conservator at the State University of Ghent.

THE POLITOLOGISCH INSTITUUT

- Mieke Van Haegendoren, Professor at the Limburg School of Advanced Economics.
- Hugo Van Hassel, Associate Professor at the Catholic University of Leuven.
- Guy Van Oudenhove, Ordinary Professor at the State University of Ghent.
- Els Witte, Ordinary Professor at the Free University of Brussels.

The Executive Committee of the Institute is as follows :

- Hugo Van Hassel, Chairman.
- Maurice Boeynaems, Secretary.
- Jan Ceuleers, Treasurer.
- Wilfried Dewachter, Editor-in-Chief.
- Herman Balthazar, Yvan Van Den Berghe, August Van Den Brande, and Mieke Van Haegendoren, members.

*